It’s raining here again! Although I’m not going to complain, because I love thunderstorms. ๐Ÿ™‚

I woke up earlier today, around 8:30, so I was happy with that. It gave my just enough time to do the readings for my Classical Mythology class today. However, I think that it may have contributed to my feeling extremely hungry during my classes. Because I woke up earlier (and I have my breakfast within 10 minutes of waking up), I also ate breakfast earlier (the usual Flax Multibran + raisins + soy milk). Thus, around 1:00, I was starving! I snacked on 2/3 of a nutrient dense Organic Food Active Greens Bar around 11, and found that it didn’t keep me full and energized like ClifBars do.

As soon as I got back from class, I whipped up lunch. I really liked my lunch from yesterday and was in no mood to be creative (Lindsay is not a happy camper when hungry!), so I decided to go for it again. A Gardenburger on a sandwich thin spread with hummus, carrots with almond butter, with a side of melon. For dessert, I had a few squares of Green & Black’s chocolate along with an Adora dark chocolate calcium disk.

I finally used up my first jar of almond butter, all by myself! I have a jar stashed and ready to go for tomorrow ๐Ÿ˜‰

CIMG0671

**********************************************

Today I decided to start a book I got last weekend, In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan, who also wrote The Omnivore’s Dilemma. The summary:

Food. There’s plenty of it around, and we all love to eat it. So why should anyone need to defend it?

Because in the so-called Western diet, food has been replaced by nutrients, and common sense by confusion – most of what we’re consuming today is no longer the product of nature but of food science. The result is what Michael Pollan calls the American Paradox: The more we worry about nutrition, the less healthy we seem to become. With In Defense of Food, Pollan proposes a new (and very old) answer to the question of what we should eat that comes down to seven simple but liberating words: Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants. Pollan’s bracing and eloquent manifesto shows us how we can start making thoughtful food choices that will enrich our lives, enlarge our sense of what it means to be healthy, and bring pleasure back to eating.

I’m interested to get into this book because when I read the summary, I feel defensive. I feel attacked for thinking about “nutrients” and always being aware of the balance of foods that I’m eating during the day. However, I do agree with his thought that food should just be simpler! I know a lot about nutrition because it interests me and so I have read a lot about nutrition: books, journals, scientific articles, etc. However, many people do not have this passion for nutrition, but do have a passion for losing weight. When they see an article in So-and-so Magazine called “The Way to Lose Weight”, they’re going to read it. And then they might pick up Blah-blah Magazine, which has an article with the same title and completely different advice! No wonder it’s confusing! Sometimes even I am confused!

I think part of it is that even science is confused. There are conflicting studies, inconclusive results, and things that are distorted by the media. This is where I feel that Pollan’s book’s premise has a point. Sometimes it is easy to get so bogged down in the science of it all that we forget the simple things we know are true. He sums these things up with his slogan “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly Plants.”

I’ll let you know what I think when I finish the book.

InDefenseFood_cover_thumb

******************************************

I’ll leave you with this quote that I found in this month’s issue of Runner’s World that fits perfectly in with my post from a few days ago, To Rest or Not to Rest.

Runner’s World: Jack Daniels, a coach and exercise physiologist in Flagstaff, Arizona, recommends putting off workouts if you’re feeling tired. “The most important thing is to recover,” he says. “If you’re tired on a workout day, there’s nothing wrong with moving it to another day.

I take this not to mean just don’t run if you don’t feel like it, but to make sure that you are feeling well enough to get the best out of your workout.

Well, I’m off to get in a quick run before I have to go spend four hours in the lab mating fruit flies!

‘Til tonight,

sig

