First, the results of grocery shopping Sunday: (I love going to the grocery store – it’s one of my favorite things to do. Is that sad? 😉 )

grocery goods

First I tried a Co-op that just opened in Lyme, NH. It was nice, but wasn’t big enough to have the variety I was looking for (plus I couldn’t find my coconut milk ice cream – big problem!). So I just went to my trusty Hanover Co-op.

CIMG0650

  • Organic WestSoy Lite Plain (I go through one of these every two days!)
  • Once Again Organic Peanut Butter (I can see in the picture that I accidentally bought crunchy…so *NEW*)
  • Once Again Organic Almond Butter
  • WestSoy Pre-Marinated Tofu: Italian Garlic & Herb flavor
  • Pavich Organic Jumbo Raisins (to have with cereal!)
  • Flax Paks *NEW*
  • Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream (chocolate flavor)

CIMG0651

  • Olivia’s Organic Baby Spinach
  • SoySation “Mozzarella Cheese”
  • Gardenburger GardenVegan Burgers *NEW*

CIMG0652

  • Pineapple
  • Organic Carrots
  • What are those in the back left? You’ll have to wait and see!

************************************************

Running and Hydration

As I’m sure we all know, it is so important to be hydrated when we run (or do any sort of exercise!). Two main ways we lose water are through breathing and sweating, which means that we lose more water during exercise (faster breathing, more sweating)

For 3 mile runs, it’s a breeze – chug a glass of water a little while before you leave, have a glass or two when you get back. However, for longer runs, this presents a problem. Going 60+ minutes without water can dehydrate the body, impacting running performance and causing symptoms such as increased fatigue, lightheadedness, and muscle cramps. So, of course, this means we need to hydrate not only after, but during our long runs!

Different Ways to Hydrate ($-$$$)

1. ($) Run repeats of a short route close to your home, for example three repeats of a three mile loop. Each time you pass your house, gulp down 4 – 8 oz. of water. An easy way to do this is to leave your water bottle in your mailbox!

2. ($$) Hand-held bottles like the Amphipod Hydraform provide a simple way to get in your H20, but may be cumbersome. I remember the time I ran with my regular iPod and had to hold it in one of my hands the entire way – all I wanted was to be done with my run so I didn’t have to hold it anymore! Also, carrying something in your hand can alter your running form, especially if you always hold it in the same hand.

hydraform

3. ($-$$$) Water Belts fit around your waist and can hold anywhere from 1-4 bottles of water. Most of the ones I’ve seen have small zipper pockets to store an ID, a small cell phone, or gels. One downside of water belts is the excess weight, however this should not severely affect your running form. Also, some water belts can bounce up and down irritatingly. This Waterboy Aid Station by Brooks ($) has an elastic band designed to prevent this:

brooks1

I also like the Delaney by Camelbak ($$$):

delaney

4. ($$ – $$$) Backpacks can hold a lot of water (1.5 – 3L) and have tubes that provide an easy access to water without having to pause or stop your run. They are generally more expensive than other methods of hydration, so make sure the one you buy has a comfortable fit. Improper fits can cause bouncing (imagine if you wore an incorrectly fitting sports bra!) and pain in the back and shoulders. Look for a snug fit and remember that it will be a lot heavier filled with water! Almost all have pockets for ID/gels. The Camelbak Annadel ($$) is designed especially for women and holds 1.5 L of fluid.

annadel

Personally, I think I’m going to try a water belt first. My long runs for the next few months will range from 6-12 miles, so I think a water belt should be able to carry an adequate amount of water for that. I will let you know which one I decide on

Sources:
http://www.medicinenet.com/dehydration/index.htm
http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-240-323–7004-0,00.html
http://ezinearticles.com/?Water-Bottle-Belt-For-Serious-Runners&id=2380125

****************************************

See you tonight for:

1. What was that in the corner of my grocery goods? 😉

2. Easy-peasy-yummy-vegan PASTA!

sig

