Today was my scheduled 6 mile long run. Luckily, when I woke up this morning, the rain had cleared and it was sunny and breezy outside! By the time I finally got out to run, it was about 72 degrees – a bit warm for my taste, but the breeze helped keep me cool.

For pre-run fuel, I had a bowl of Nature’s Path Flax Plus Multibran Cereal with organic jumbo raisins and about a cup of soy milk.

cereal with raisins and soy milk

I ate around 10 and went for my run around 12, and I was hungry! I thought about eating a small snack before heading out, but decided against it and I forgot to bring my Luna Sport Moons that I was going to try out. A lesson for next time. I think I’m going to look into getting one of those belts that holds water or a CamelBak, because as my long runs start increasing in miles, I know that I need to stay hydrated.

Running Stats:

  • Time: 1:07:12
  • Distance: 5.8 miles
  • Pace: 11:35 per mile

Needless to say, when I got back, I was starving! I fixed up a green smoothie:

CIMG0647

It contained:

  • one leaf of organic-grown kale
  • 2 cups organic spinach
  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 c soy milk
  • 2 c ice (I wanted it cold with lots of volume!)

Alongside, I had a cashew butter & strawberry jam sandwich on an Arnold’s sandwich thin and a side of honeydew melon.

CIMG0646

CIMG0649

For dessert, I had half of a “Vegan Nirvana” cookie from the bakery in town, Lou’s. They are made with pumpkin, dark chocolate chips, walnuts, and cranberries. Delicious! I had a spoonful of white chocolate pb on top.

******************************************************************

Later on today:

1. Results of grocery shopping Sunday!

2. Research on hydration methods during a run

3. An easy, yummy, vegan pasta recipe!

